Skip to content

Friend Summer Shoots

May 28, 2011

Another reason to feel lucky: awesome friends.

I decided a few months ago that when warmer weather finally came, I would ask a bunch of my friends if they would be interested in doing portrait sessions. My goal was to dedicate my summer to practicing as much as possible.

The weather eventually got better and, sure enough, I put off sending the message. Nerves kicked in. What if no one answers? What if they don’t like my style? What if everyone hates the experience and I end up abandoning photography?

A few days ago, I decided the time had come to just do it. After spending two hours typing out a message on Facebook, I finally succumbed to the pressure of the ‘10% battery left’ sign flashing at the bottom of my laptop screen and pressed ‘send’. It was done, I told myself. Whatever happens will happen.

With an anxious heart I logged on to Facebook the next day. The little red notification sign immediately caught my eye, but pangs of nervousness still hit when I clicked it. Total shock. Not only had people responded, they were excited. Excited! Over a dozen of my amazing friends responded and I immediately started booking dates. I could count stars I was so happy.

And that brings us to now. My first “friend session” is in a few days with my best friend Celine at the gorgeous downtown University of Toronto campus. I can’t wait to show you what we produce! Something tells me it will be a good summer 😉

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 5, 2011 18:31

    I want one too!!! =) Hope your friend sessions are going well!

Leave a Reply

