Skip to content

Sick days

June 11, 2011

2011 Canadian weather is officially on my black list. In the last month we’ve gone from non-stop rain to an occasional insanely-hot day, and back to downright cold weather. Even someone with an immune system of steel has reason to be sick with these drastic changes.

I’m proud to say that I resisted getting sick for a while. Unfortunately, the most recent drop from 41 degrees with humidity to 14 degrees at night proved to be the tipping point and here I am in bed going from chills to hot flashes and chewing on throat lozenges by the box.

In better news, my bed-rest has given me the chance to catch up on my favorite shows and the Internet world. I thought I’d share with you some of the things that have been keeping me company in the last few days:

1. Big Bang Theory

This is one of the few shows in existence that gets better and better as it goes on. Don’t get me wrong, the first seasons are still hilarious, and possibly more-so in my slightly delirious state. The first time we hear Sheldon’s laugh, Penny’s addiction to the Conan game, “Soft Kitty”, Howard in general – there’s so much to love.

If I had to narrow it down, though, my very favorite scene from the entire 4 seasons so far has to be this one:

Sheldon in ball pit
Watch the scene here.

We’re talking cough-fit-inducing funny. (Also, watching that scene reminds me of how tiring playing in those ball pits used to be.)

2. Breaking Dawn Trailer

I just want to clarify: in the ultimate showdown between Harry Potter and Twilight, I am 100% on team Harry Potter. There’s an entire section in my bookcase devoted to the books and movies, and, by this point, I swear I’ve spent as much time on Harry Potter Wiki as regular Wikipedia. For real. When the trailer for the second part of the 7th movie came out, my friend and I squealed in the cinema and then watched it open-mouthed like it was the most serious thing we’d ever seen. Yeah, it’s that kind of nerdiness.

So while HP will always be #1 for me, I have to give credit to the latest Twilight trailer. It’s intense. It sucks you in and makes you want to buy tickets for November right now.

The wedding looks like it’ll be the prettiest thing ever. Plus, don’t you love that Jacob *has* to take his shirt off to run? Cause, you know, there’s just no other way.

3. Baby photography

You might have read in a previous post that I may be doing some baby sessions soon. I’ve been doing some research and, man, is there ever some cute-cute-CUTE baby photography out there.

One of the best baby photographers I’ve come across is Joyce Harmon Prouty of Wildflowers Photography in California. She is an amazing photographer overall, but her family and baby photos particularly stand out. She has a clear ability to put families in their most relaxed state, making them and their babies look natural and happy. And happy babies definitely photograph the best.

If you’re in need of some baby cuteness or just want to see some good photography, definitely check out her site. Some favorite sessions are here, here and here (in the last one scroll down towards the end – the twin kissing the other twin is honestly by far THE cutest thing I have EVER seen).

Just looking at these photos makes me feel instantly better 🙂

4. X-Factor auditions

My sister and I developed an addiction to X-Factor auditions a few years ago – specifically to bad X-Factor auditions. We have a list of ones we set on repeat and we even quote them to each other. It’s not that we like seeing people be told they can’t sing. It’s that we like when people who are told they can’t sing take things a step too far, blow up on the judges, start singing creepy songs at them or bring in their parents to argue with Simon Cowell. And all of it with British accents. Priceless.

Please enjoy this hand-picked selection from our personal favorites:

Quote of the clip: “I’ve got the looks, I’ve got the body really.”

Quote of the clip: “It wasn’t something to be liked. It was something to be understood from an academic perspective. Obviously you’re not an academic.”

Quote of the clip – so many to choose from: “Where’s your brain, in your middle toe?”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

