Skip to content

Fireworks and Perfect Solitude

July 2, 2011

I was determined to make the most of this Canada Day. Almost everyone I knew was out of town and I had no plans – a daunting fact, considering this day is usually marked by barbeques with friends or trips to the cottage with family. But my alone-ness was not going to stop me from making this a memorable Canada Day, I told myself. And so was born my day of perfect solitude.

I decided to fill the day with only things I thoroughly enjoy. After packing a delicious lunch, I biked down to Harbourfront, Toronto’s waterfront, and feasted while taking in some much-needed sun. The atmosphere was perfect. There is nothing like a long weekend to instantly bring in a sense of relaxation to this city. Everywhere I looked, people were lounging about, picnicking and taking in the views of the lake and the islands. To think that this was a Friday, a day on which I’m usually confined to a cubicle and reconciling Excel spreadsheets, made me extra happy.

CD 1

CD 2

CD 3

After biking around the Leslieville area, and some frozen yogurt at the DE-LISH Yogurt Spoon (self serve fro-yo people!), my day ended with a photographic challenge: fireworks. Armed with my camera, tripod and notes from Creative Live’s recent “Photographing Fireworks” workshop (which is free to watch all weekend-long beeteedubs), I headed in the direction of Ontario Place for its annual Canada Day firework display.

I was surprised by how much fun I had photographing the fireworks. It was one of those sheer delights that makes me love photography so much – that feeling of having captured something different, something exciting.

CD 5

CD 6

CD 7

CD 8

CD 9

If you are interested in learning how to capture fireworks, definitely catch the Creative Live “Photographing Fireworks” workshop up on their site all weekend-long. I hope you all had a great Canada Day!

One Comment leave one →
  1. alberta permalink
    July 10, 2011 20:41

    ooooooooh B-raw, these are fancy!

Leave a Reply

