Skip to content

Working Holiday

September 5, 2011

The beauty of working towards a profession like photography is that even a holiday can be a work opportunity. Every day on my trip so far has been a chance to practice, improve and experiment with photography – all with some of the best sights and subjects in the world.

Today was an exceptionally real work day. I had a series of 3 to 4 hour-long train rides as I made my way from St. Raphael in the south of France to Florence, Italy and instead of indulging in my usual travel time-killers – listening to music, attempting to nap or chuckling at the sight of a cute little Italian nonna yelling into her cell phone – I decided I would actually take the train time I have and work. I downloaded some of the Creative Live courses I had previously purchased onto my mp3 player, bought some French and Italian fashion magazines and got down to it. When I wasn’t staring open-mouthed at the turquoise blue Meditteranean Sea and coastal Italian villages flashing by the window (too gorgeous), I watched videos on marketing, flipped through ads for Parisian and Milanese boutiques – folding the corners of pictures I particularly liked, and took notes on ideas for the business for when I’m back home. 

It comes down to this: the fact that I can incorporate my passion for traveling into a career, that I can gain inspiration from it and use it to foster my photography business, and to actually be able to call all of this work, makes me feel happier than ever.

 😀

Some views from today’s train ride:

Train ride view 1

View from train 2

View from train 3

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

