Skip to content

Friendly Italia | Florence + Rome, Italy | Travel Diairies

October 25, 2011

If there’s anything I’ve learned in my travels, it’s that the places you remember most fondly are the ones where you connected with great people. That was Italy for me.

I spent the first of my few days in Florence shyly walking around the city by myself. Don’t get me wrong, traveling alone does have its advantages: you can sightsee at your own pace, do that dorky but awesome audio tour, and know that the obscene amounts of gelato you ate that day will always be your own little secret.  But there are also downsides. For me, it’s always been having dinner alone.

It just so happened that on my second night in Florence everyone in my 6-person hostel dorm was back at the room in the early evening. None of us knew each other and, seeing as we knew no one else in the city, we all resolved to sit on our beds and wait for an appropriate time to go to sleep. Luckily, an Australian boy in the bed next to mine broke the silence and we started chatting. Within minutes everyone in the dorm room was acquainted and within half an hour we were all dressed up and headed out the door for a night out together. It was one of the best nights of my trip. We danced right next door to the Duomo, walked on the refreshingly deserted streets of the old town, got to know each other and ended the night discovering the “Michelangelo imitation artists” in us (and that’s all I’ll say about that).

Rome was a similar experience. My friends Nathalie and Daniele, whom you will shortly get to know better, showed me their city like I never imagined I would see it. From inside. Oh, and they taught me how to drink from a water fountain the true Roman way. It may seem like nothing, but knowing that you can drink water gracefully like a local Roman, unrecognizable as a tourist for at least a split second, made me feel very special. 🙂

=Florence=

Florence 1

Florence 11

Florence 12

Florence 2

Florence 7

Florence 8

Florence 9

Florence 10

Florence flowers

Florence 6

=Rome=

Rome 1

Rome 2

Rome 3

Rome 4

Rome 5

Rome 9

Rome 6

Rome 8

My friend Nathalie:

Rome 7

A little behind the scenes:

Florence 14

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

