Skip to content

Hi 2012

December 26, 2011

December is my favorite month. I may be biased because I’m a December baby, but I love it for more reasons than just that. Work is more relaxed, everything is decorated and festive, winter begins but hasn’t been around long enough to induce winter blues, family gets together for the holidays… seriously, it’s almost too much goodness for one month.

Aside from the more obvious reasons to be excited, I love December because it’s a time to look back on the year that passed and to plan a new start for the year to come. There’s a natural will to plan a change for the better that comes with the new year. It’s kind of like that feeling when you started a new notebook back in the school days – the clean, unwrinkled paper was a fresh start that always prompted the promise of neater writing and doing all your homework well and on time. We all know how that story ended – writing became sloppy by the third page and homework, well homework is physically impossible to keep up with – but the resolutions were well-meant and re-energizing.

The end of 2011 marks the end of a significant year for me. Last December, on a whim, I booked a plane ticket to Las Vegas and in February I flew over to attend a photography workshop hosted by the girls of Simply Bloom Photography. I fully credit the decision to seriously approach photography to those girls. I discovered them when researching ideas for my brother’s engagement shoot in 2009 and their work was the first I’d ever encountered that approached wedding photography as fine art. (Check out their work, you will be blown away.) After attending their Las Vegas workshop, I can now also credit them with the MAJOR boost I’ve experienced over the last ten months in my business. Let me tell you a little story:

Before our workshop, one of the workshop participants suggested we all exchange websites/blogs so we can get to know each others work. The only person who didn’t post a website/blog? Me. Because I didn’t have one. On the first day of our workshop, we were all asked to say what our major areas of photographic focus were. Everyone replied with a concrete answer except? Me. I had no clue. At the farewell dinner, all our fellow participants exchanged business cards. We each got one from everyone except? You guessed it – me.

I am proud to say that ten months later I have a blog, an idea of what I want to photograph AND business cards 🙂 If ONLY February 2011 me could see me now – am I right? I am so incredibly thankful I had that opportunity to meet all those people, to learn from Vania and Christine of Simply Bloom and to photograph a real life styled shoot in a dried up lake bed outside of Las Vegas.

After the workshop everyone exchanged links to their re-cap of the weekend except –  yes, me. In the spirit of ‘catching up’ to that Las Vegas workshop group, here are finally the photos from our shoot. I hope you enjoy them and I wish you all a refreshing and re-energizing change of years.

SB 1

SB 2

SB3

SB 4

SB 5

SB 6

SB 7

SB 8

SB 9

SB 10

The group in action:

SB 11

Photography: Barbara Kowalski
Workshop Hosts: Simply Bloom Photography
Styling: Jen Campbell of Green Wedding Shoes
Flowers: Layers of Lovely
Hair + Make-up: Lisa Strawther
Pink Wedding Dress: Claire La Faye
Shoes with the pink dress: Nina shoes from shoebuy.com
Hair Accessories: Untamed Petals
Male Shoes: Rockadelic from shoebuy.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2012 23:39

    These are lovely! I wish I was going back to Vegas this year.

Leave a Reply

